Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archival Resources: Commission on Race and Slavery

A consolidated view of digitized materials and collections related to facts presented in the Report of the Commission on Race and Slavery, 2020.

Digitized Resources

Faculty Minutes, 19th Century19th Century Faculty Minutes 

These typescripts of the nineteenth century faculty meeting minutes are akeyword searchable. The collection also contains the minutes of the Trustees of Western Carolina College (1821 - 1824). These records include information about disciplinary actions, course recommendations, the effects of the Civil War, and the treatment of college "servants."

 

Records of the Board of Trustees, 19th Century19th Century Trustee Minutes

These typescripts of the nineteenth century trustee meeting minutes are keyword searchable. The Board of Trustees originally comprised of representatives from the various local Presbyterian synods. These records include information about disciplinary actions, faculty proposals, the effects of the Civil War, and the treatment of college "servants."

 

Project 87 document, appendix 16 of the Task Force ReportReport of the Task Force on Racial/Ethnic Concerns (1984)

The Task Force on Racial/Ethnic Concerns was established by President John Kuykendall in 1984 to take a critical look at the environment which the college provided for black students (and students of other racial/ethnic groups) and the experience which that environment afforded them. The Task Force Report Review Subcommittee was appointed in 1988 to conduct a progress review of the strategies outlined in the 1984 Task Force Report on Racial/Ethnic Concerns.

 

Cover of the 1922 edition of the Davidson College MagazineDavidson Monthly (1870 - 1871, 1886 - 1930)

Subtitled “A Magazine Devoted to Science, Literature and Art,” The Davidson Monthly reported on local events, published the important speeches of the Eumenean and Philanthropic literary societies, and ran editorials, but the focus of the magazine was poetry, prose, and essays written by Davidson students and alumni.

 

 

Cover of fall 1990 edition of the Davidson Journal titled The Black Experience at Davidson CollegeDavidson Journal (1987 - Present)

The Davidson Journal was first published in the spring of 1987 at the College's sesquicentennial celebration alongside the Davidson Update (which was a spin-off of the Alumni Journal). It merged with the Davidson Update after the fourth issue in the fall of 1989. It comes out four times a year, once per season, and includes Alumni news and stories about the College.

 

Selected manuscript document from the Robert Z Johnston collectionDC022: Robert Zenas Johnston Collection

This collection concerns Robert Zenas Johnston (1834-1908) and includes school notebooks from Davidson College and Columbia Theological Seminary, student essays, correspondence, his sermons (1859-1907) and speeches, as well as a small amount of financial and printed materials. 

 

Davidson in the 1840s by Jethro Rumple​DC0222s: Jethro Rumple Collection 

The collection consists of correspondence concerning the Concord Presbytery, the manuscript of a biography of Rev. John Bunyan Shearer, and manuscript notes about Davidson College in the 1840s, including information about Esom, the president's "body servant."

 

slave schedule for davidson familyDC060: General William Lee Davidson Collection

William Lee Davidson was born in 1746, moving from Pennsylvania to North Carolina in 1750. He became a general during the Revolutionary War, dying on the battlefield of Cowan's Ford in February 1781. Davidson College was named in his honor in 1837 after his son donated family land for the construction of the college. A small selection of materials from this collection have been digitized and are available online, here, including a will and information about college governance. 

 

Audio 177: Alumni Oral History Interview - John Knox Wilson, September 2004             

Subjects: Davidson College, Davidson, NC            

Audio 276: Alumni Oral History Interview - Samuel R. Spencer, 09/30/2005                            

Subjects: Davidson, NC 

CD 57: Alumni Oral History Interview - Derry Harper '76, 2009

Subjects: Davidson, NC, Davidson College, Alumni of Color Interview Project

CD 58: Alumni Oral History Interview - Rasheedah Hasan '96, 2009

Subjects: Davidson, NC, Davidson College, Alumni of Color Interview Project

CD 59: Alumni Oral History Interview - Leslie Brown '69, 2009

Subjects: Davidson, NC, Davidson College, Alumni of Color Interview Project

CD 60: Alumni Oral History Interview - Janet Stovall Harrell '85, 2009

Subjects: Davidson, NC, Davidson College, Alumni of Color Interview Project

CD 61: Alumni Oral History Interview - Lenny McAllister '93, 2009

Subjects: Davidson, NC, Davidson College, Alumni of Color Interview Project

College History Timelines

Special Collections

 

 

In Special Collections, we have a diverse array of materials, including published books, serials, pamphlets, and maps.

Listed here are publications about legacies of slavery as related to early trustee and faculty families at Davidson College, as well as general local histories. 

For more information about what you can find in the library, please search the library's catalog.

 

cover of

Footprints on the Rough Side of the Mountain

1997

Oscar DePriest Hand and Julia Neal Sykes

They Married Confederate Officers book cover

They Married Confederate Officers

An intimate look at the lives of each of Dr. Robert Hall Morrison's six daughters: Isabella Sophia, Harriet Abigail, Mary Anna, Eugenia Erixene, Susan Washington, and Laura Panthea Morrison. Special forward by John Kuykendall, past president of Davidson College (Davidson, NC). Winner of the prestigious 1996 Willie Parker Peace History Book Award.

book cover of Major John Davidson of Rural Hill

Major John Davidson of "Rural Hill," Mecklenburg County, N.C., pioneer, industrialist, planter

Major John Davidson of "Rural Hill" plantation, Mecklenburg County, N.C.

1943

book cover of Plantation World Around Davidson

The plantation world around Davidson; the story of North Mecklenburg "before the war."

The plantation world around Davidson; the story of North Mecklenburg "before the war."

The library also retains copies from 1973 and 1982.

book cover of One Town, Many Voices

One Town, Many Voices

History of the town of Davidson from its founding to the early 21st century.

2012

book cover to A history of Davidson College by Mary Beaty

A history of Davidson College

A history of Davidson College

1988

photo of the Davidson College Presbyterian Church

A history of the Davidson College Presbyterian Church

A history of the Davidson College Presbyterian Church

1987

book cover to Davidson College; Intimate Facts

Davidson College; intimate facts

Davidson College; intimate facts

1923

David Played a Harp

David Played a Harp is an autobiography by Ralph W. Johnson, a bi-racial, self-educated, retired barber. His barber shop in Davidson, NC was the target of student picketing which challenged state law exempting personal service shops from the civil rights act. He writes personally of the changes of the 20th century in education, race relations, business opportunity.

book cover of Memories of Davidson College

Memories of Davidson College

Memories of Davidson College

Walter Lingle, 1947

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com