The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. Coverage includes materials published in more than 100 countries and in more than 50 languages, in the areas of literatures and languages from around the world
(1935 to present) Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers on topics related to Latin America. Fields covered include anthropology, archaeology, art, economics, geography, history, international relations, language and literature, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology. Produced by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
(1970 to present) An important source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the United States; interdisciplinary in scope. Includes citations to articles, book reviews, and original literary works published in over 400 journals and in six languages, including Spanish, English, Portuguese, and French.
Covers the fields of anthropology, archaeology, banking and finance, business, drama, economics, ethnography, folklore, geography, history, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, and women's studies.
Additional Databases
Multidisciplinary databases cover many subjects, including Hispanic Studies. Browse related databases using the tabs.
(Time period covered: 1450 to present. Publication coverage: 1954 to present) Covers the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews. Access is limited to six users at a time.
(c. 1784 to present for some titles) bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
JSTOR access includes over 50,000 eBooks; full-text archive of the back issues of major scholarly journals; 19th Century British Pamphlets, a collection of journals, monographs, and manuscripts related to Ireland, and some current journal issues. The eBooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format.
(c. mid-1990s to present) A collection of over 700 full-text journals and more than 65,000 eBooks published by university and scholarly presses. Covers the humanities and social sciences. Titles are DRM-free allowing for unlimited access, downloading and printing, and simultaneous usage.
The MUSE platform offers 100% complete, full-text, journal, book, and related content from over 200 not-for-profit publishers including many of the world's most distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, independent publishers, and academic departments.
Now our largest collection of full-text article databases!
(c. 1800 to present) Multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Also contains citations to additional materials. Includes all of our ProQuest databases.
Contains diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content. Includes electronic access to the Charlotte Observer (1886-present), in addition to many local North Carolina newspapers.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” a national research effort directed by Nicolás Kanellos, Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies at the University of Houston.
This collection is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project” directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos at the University of Houston. It is a subset of America's Historical Newspapers and part of the Archive of Americana.
(1805-1922) Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1805-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring digital facsimiles of nineteenth and early twentieth-century Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
The library was able to acquire the content in this database thanks to a generous gift from Mrs. Laura Landoe, a Davidson parent; we thank her for her support.
Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. With an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, students can create individual user IDs and passwords to enable the setting of alerts, and saving searches and documents of interest. Collaboration tools make it easy for students to team up on research projects efficiently.
Use is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
Contains diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, videos, periodicals, and web-only content. Includes electronic access to the Charlotte Observer (1886-present), in addition to many local North Carolina newspapers.
(1941-1996) The full text of U.S. Government transcriptions and translations of foreign news broadcasts, including clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories; these reports were used by U.S. intelligence services, policy makers, and analysts and are a valuable primary source collection for historical and political science research.
For FBIS reports from 1996 to the present, search World News Connection.
(1957-1994) Full-text, English-language translations of foreign language newspaper articles, radio and television broadcasts, journal articles, reports, and monographs. Covers economics, international relations, national politics, military affairs, and science and technology topics from all regions of the world, with a particular emphasis on communist and third-world countries.
Established in 1957, JPRS supplied U.S. federal government agencies with translations of political, scientific and technical literature. In 1995, JPRS publications were merged into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. With an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, students can create individual user IDs and passwords to enable the setting of alerts, and saving searches and documents of interest. Collaboration tools make it easy for students to team up on research projects efficiently.
Use is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
(1995-2013) Full-text, English-language summaries and translations of foreign news reports, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports, and other local media sources from around the world. Covers political, scientific, socioeconomic, technical, and environmental issues and events. Note: because the government is no longer providing the content for this database, it became an archive only after 31 December 2013.
For earlier years, see the FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) database.
These materials are provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
