Latin American Studies

Manoel de Oliveira Lima was a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian, and book collector whose career spanned Brazil's transition from empire to republic. Most of the pamphlets in the collection are on Brazilian subjects or their authors are Brazilian; the majority were published in Brazil or Portugal. Included here are approximately 3,800 publications from the mid-sixteenth century and the early days of printing and movable type into the first quarter of the twentieth century.

This primary-source collection documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides unprecedented access to files covering more than a thousand writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad.

This collection contains approximately 39,000 academic e-books and e-journals in Spanish language published in Spain and Latin America covering a wide range of subjects from Art and Literature to Science and Technology. All titles with the PDF view also have an audio viewer that allows users to listen to the text while reading. View in PDF, HTML, EPUB, download with Adobe for up to 20 days.

(c.1700s to the present) A collection of full-text literary works, memoirs, essays, and feminist works written by women in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Most of the texts are in Spanish and Portuguese.

(1500-1926) A digital collection of over 65,000 titles, including books, pamphlets, political tracts, maps, and other works about North, South, and Central America and the West Indies, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Part of Gale Primary Sources

(15th to the present) Contains digital facsimiles of original manuscripts, letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and ephemera related to the history of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Over 200,000 e-books published by academic, trade, and professional publishers; covers all subject areas. Includes tools that allow you to create your own virtual bookshelf, bookmark pages, and add and save notes and highlights. Some titles can be downloaded for short-term use; some allow chapter downloads. Limitations on copying, saving, and printing vary by title, and reset after 24 hours. To locate ebooks without user limitations use the Advanced Search option. Near the end of the page, you'll find a field for "Number of Copies." Select "More Than 1" or "Unlimited."

Over 200,000 ebooks in a wide variety of subject areas. Limitations on printing, downloading, saving vary by title. Create your own EBSCOhost account to add notes, virtual bookmarks, and download ebooks to read them offline To download, Adobe Digital Editions software is required, and books are only available offline for short-term loans.
To read online, if an eBook is left “open” in a browser window but is no longer being used, then the eBook becomes available to other users after the last user’s EBSCOhost session expires (30 minutes, by default) and the system confirms that they haven’t used the title in 5 minutes (for a total of up to 35 minutes).

(c. 1980 to present) Over 2,200 ebooks published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences. All Duke ebook titles are DRM-free: users can print, read online, and download PDFs by chapter and allows for unlimited multiuser access.

(c. mid-1990s to present) A collection of over 700 full-text journals and more than 65,000 eBooks published by university and scholarly presses. Covers the humanities and social sciences. Titles are DRM-free allowing for unlimited access, downloading and printing, and simultaneous usage.