Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Getting Started

Ask Us

Call: 704-894-2332

Or Text: 704-308-3732

Search the Davidson Library Catalog to find additional reference books.

Gale eBooks Reference Library
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.

Welcome to the Latin American Studies research guide! Use this guide as a starting point for your research in this subject area.

Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
(1833-1969) British Government documents, including diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, investigative reports, profiles of leading figures, description of tours, political and economic analyses, and maps, covering Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, industrial development, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
Part of Archives Direct.
For help using this collection, see the short (1 min.) videos on searching and filtering results.
Latin American News Digest
A Washington, D.C. based publication dedicated to expanding the reach of news coverage and analysis produced by Latin American media, Latin American News Digest aggregates the news of the Latin American media.
Issues appear weekly, with the exception of July, Thanksgiving break and December. Material from these periods appears in expanded, subsequent issues.

Biography Index Retrospective 1946-1983
Biography Index Retrospective is an archive index covering notable individuals from all time periods and countries. Indexing and citations include book reviews, interviews, obituaries, diaries and memoirs.
Includes the full text of biographies from major reference works, such as The Grove Dictionary of Art, Current Biography, and The Dictionary of American Religious Biography, among others. Also includes Biography Index (1946-1983).
Gale eBooks Reference Library
The full text of over 1,000 reference books -- including many scholarly subject encyclopedias -- covering a wide variety of disciplines and subjects. Includes Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture.
Oxford Bibliographies
A collection of online, annotated bibliographies; includes Latin American Studies. Each entry is compiled by experts in the field and provides citations to the key literature on a topic; both print and online materials are included.
The library has the following collections:
--African Studies
--Art History
--Atlantic History
--Biblical Studies
--Chinese Studies
--Cinema and Media Studies
--Classics
--Islamic Studies
--Latin American Studies
--Latino Studies
--Psychology
--Public Health
--Renaissance and Reformation

Diccionario de la Lengua Española
The full text of the 23rd edition of the Diccionario de la Lengua Española (Real Academia Española, 2014). Over 200,000 definitions; also contains etymologies.
The Library has a print version of the previous edition of this dictionary in Reference at call number R 463 A16d22.

Cambridge Dictionary English-Portuguese
Cambridge Dictionary brings beginner and intermediate learners of English regularly updated words and meanings with Portuguese translations, along with thousands of carefully chosen example sentences from the Cambridge English Corpus.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
ISBN: 9780684312705
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin America's 37 countries. New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Chavez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession. Edited by Jay Kinsbruner and an international team of consultants on three continents.