Research Guides: Educational Studies: Getting Started

Ask Us

Call: 704-894-2332

Or Text: 704-308-3732

Search the Davidson Library Catalog to find additional reference books.

Gale eBooks Reference Library
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.

Welcome to the Educational Studies research guide! Use this guide as a starting point for your research in this subject area.

Education Full Text & Education Index Retrospective
(1929 to present) Indexes over 800 English-language education periodicals, books, and yearbooks; covers the fields of athletics, educational technology, elementary education, higher education, library science, literacy standards, multicultural education, religious education, school administration, special education, teacher education, and student counseling, among others.
ERIC
(1966 to present) Indexes articles in over 775 journals as well as reports, conference proceedings, and curriculum guides in education and related areas.

American National Biography
Covers more than 19,000 prominent U.S. men and women from all periods of history. Excludes living people.
The bibliographies are great tools for finding primary and secondary sources; they contain information about published and unpublished primary sources and evaluative comment on notable secondary sources.
Biography Index Retrospective 1946-1983
Biography Index Retrospective is an archive index covering notable individuals from all time periods and countries. Indexing and citations include book reviews, interviews, obituaries, diaries and memoirs.
Includes the full text of biographies from major reference works, such as The Grove Dictionary of Art, Current Biography, and The Dictionary of American Religious Biography, among others. Also includes Biography Index (1946-1983).