Over 200,000 e-books published by academic, trade, and professional publishers; covers all subject areas. Includes tools that allow you to create your own virtual bookshelf, bookmark pages, and add and save notes and highlights. Some titles can be downloaded for short-term use; some allow chapter downloads. Limitations on copying, saving, and printing vary by title, and reset after 24 hours. To locate ebooks without user limitations use the Advanced Search option. Near the end of the page, you'll find a field for "Number of Copies." Select "More Than 1" or "Unlimited."
Over 200,000 ebooks in a wide variety of subject areas. Limitations on printing, downloading, saving vary by title. Create your own EBSCOhost account to add notes, virtual bookmarks, and download ebooks to read them offline To download, Adobe Digital Editions software is required, and books are only available offline for short-term loans.
To read online, if an eBook is left “open” in a browser window but is no longer being used, then the eBook becomes available to other users after the last user’s EBSCOhost session expires (30 minutes, by default) and the system confirms that they haven’t used the title in 5 minutes (for a total of up to 35 minutes).
1-user and 3-user ebooks allow limited access to the ebook and this varies by the license allowed by the publisher.
For ebooks we have licensed for 1-User or 3-User the checkout time is 3 days. Please check back for your selected title, the library is not able to determine when an ebook will be accessible.
(c. 1980 to present) Over 2,200 ebooks published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences. All Duke ebook titles are DRM-free: users can print, read online, and download PDFs by chapter and allows for unlimited multiuser access.
(c. 1930s to present; coverage varies by journal) A comprehensive index of philosophy journal articles, books, book chapters, and reviews. Includes real-time indexing of pre-prints, links to Open Access archives and philosopher's personal Web pages, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, discussion forums, and more.
Davidson College also has the following Philosophy Documentation Center titles: Augustinian Studies (1970-present), The Journal of Philosophy (1921-present), The Journal of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Methods (1904-1920), Environmental Ethics (1979-present).
PhilPapers is sponsored by the Centre for Digital Philosophy at the University of Western Ontario, the American Philosophical Association, the Institute of Philosophy, and academic libraries, including the Davidson College Library.
(c. mid-1990s to present) A collection of over 700 full-text journals and more than 65,000 eBooks published by university and scholarly presses. Covers the humanities and social sciences. Titles are DRM-free allowing for unlimited access, downloading and printing, and simultaneous usage.
The MUSE platform offers 100% complete, full-text, journal, book, and related content from over 200 not-for-profit publishers including many of the world's most distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, independent publishers, and academic departments.
How to Find Ebooks
Use the guide below to learn about our ebook collections. You can also browse our Open Access collections.