Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines. Jean Susorney Wellington. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2003.
Reference Stacks First Floor R 480 W452d
How to Find Articles
Discover how to search for articles using our research guide. The guide includes a step by step process about how to use the Journal Finder tool.
The queen of databases for all fields in Greek and Roman studies. Run by a team of scholars from six countries, L’Année indexes over 1,000 journals, contains entries for more than 800,000 books and articles. Perhaps its most useful feature is an abstract for each article. Serious researchers start here because you get fewer but higher quality results than searching in Google Scholar or the library database.
Searches widely online, including many scholarly publications. Searches often return an overwhelming number of hits. Perhaps its most useful features are “Cited By” and “Related Articles”; if you find one good article, these features will let you look forwards and backwards in time for other articles on your topic.
A digital repository rather than a database, JSTOR’s main advantage is that if you find something in JSTOR one click takes you to a PDF. It currently includes 78 journals in classical studies, including many of the top journals in English. It can do full-text searches. The “Text Analyzer” is an experimental feature that allows you to use your own document to find related articles.
Contains an introductory bibliography, a bibliography of electronic articles, a bibliography of electronic reviews, and links to several other bibliographical resources for ancient medicine.
A resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world. Maintained by the Women’s Classical Caucus.
A selective, annotated bibliography of books, articles, and resources helpful for answering the question: How can we conceptualize race in the Ancient World?
A growing collection of online, annotated bibliographies, including both print and online resources, compiled by experts in the field and providing descriptions of the key literature on a topic. The library subscribes to the classics module, among others.
The library has the following collections:
--African Studies
--Art History
--Atlantic History
--Biblical Studies
--Chinese Studies
--Cinema and Media Studies
--Classics
--Islamic Studies
--Latin American Studies
--Latino Studies
--Psychology
--Public Health
--Renaissance and Reformation
