Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.
Welcome to the Theatre research guide! Use this guide as a starting point for your research in this subject area.
This collection includes digital facsimiles of over 30,000 broadsides and ephemera, including advertisements, handbills, trade cards, theatre and music programs, stock certificates, menus, and many other works.
Includes video of over 900 live full length productions – including Digital Theatre’s own recordings alongside collections from the likes of the BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, as well as in-depth interviews with industry professionals including actors, directors as well as all backstage staff: lighting technicians, fight coordinators, stage managers et al.
Please note: download the latest version of Chrome in order to continue using this browser to watch content on the platform. This will need to be done before 6th December 2022 when these changes come into full effect.
The wide-ranging materials in Nineteenth Century American Drama will shed light on areas of study generally supported to this point only by imprints and newspapers: daily life in the United States; politics, both local and national; culture in all of its forms; and the shifting and evolving tastes of Americans from across the country. Included here are hundreds of prompt books and manuscripts—annotated copies that help reveal the changing intentions of authors and the artistic views of directors. Together, these unique materials written by both the famous and the obscure provide students and scholars with rich new opportunities to study the dramatic arts and the American past from diverse perspectives.
Digital facsimiles of 107 copies of the 21 Shakespeare plays that were printed in quarto before 1642; you can view individual copies of the Quartos or compare one copy with another. Also includes background information and a glossary.
Biography Index Retrospective is an archive index covering notable individuals from all time periods and countries. Indexing and citations include book reviews, interviews, obituaries, diaries and memoirs.
Includes the full text of biographies from major reference works, such as The Grove Dictionary of Art, Current Biography, and The Dictionary of American Religious Biography, among others. Also includes Biography Index (1946-1983).
Full-text biographies, critical essays, journal articles, and excerpts of criticism and reviews; covers dramatists, essayists, novelists, poets, and other writers from all time periods. Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Includes Contemporary Authors, The Dictionary of Literary Biography, and substantial portions of Gale's other literature criticism series, including the Scribner Writers Series. Also includes the Gale's Literary Index and the Encyclopedia of Literature.
Within Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Note: while we do not have access to all of the titles in the full collection, the default search covers the titles that Davidson owns.
Covers the music of the world's peoples and includes an overview of each region of the world, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions, and themes, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Also includes over 300 audio recordings.
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Search the Cambridge Core platform for the full text of over 600 titles in the Cambridge Companions Literature and Classics series, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series, and Music series. Note: Choose "Only search content I have access to" below the search box when searching to limit results to collections Davidson owns.