Skip to main content

Emergency Remote Teaching Resources

Hold Your Classes During Emergency Closures

Details of Expanded Coverage and Other Vendor Offers

For questions regarding access, contact Kelly Denzer, kedenzer@davidson.edu

Internet Archive

  • The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.

COVID-19 Specific Research

  • AAAS Science-
    • The American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Science family of journals are applying formidable resources to keep the scientific community and the public well informed on the coronavirus pandemic. Click here for free access to our latest coronavirus/COVID-19 research, commentary, and news.
  • American Society for Microbiology-
    • Coronavirus Research Articles are freely accessible. ASM Journals is offering free access to more than 50 research articles published over the last year in our 16 scholarly journals and expediting review for submitted papers related to coronavirus.
    • Coronavirus-Related Chapters are freely available from ASM Press and publishing partner Wiley to support the research and clinical communities in their efforts to combat COVID-19.
  • Cambridge University Press-
    • Free access to Coronavirus research on Cambridge Core – more than 150 book chapters and journal articles related to COVID-19, with future articles being added once they are published.
  • JSTOR-
  • MUSE in Focus: Contextualizing Pandemic-
    • a small sampling of temporarily free scholarship from Project MUSE publishers on the broad topic of pandemic and its effects throughout history, in culture, and on humanity as a whole. We hope that bringing these pieces together will help to bring historical and cultural context to the current crisis, so that we may look to the knowledge of the past to guide us forward.
  • Taylor and Francis-
    • This microsite provides links and references to all relevant COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information that can be freely accessed on Taylor & Francis Online and Taylor & Francis ebooks in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research into COVID-19.
  • Wiley Online Library-
    • Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access, As a publisher of trusted health science, we’ve made the relevant research articles, book chapters and entries in our major references freely available below, in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research in this disease and similar viral respiratory infections.

--------------------------

Academic Video Online (ProQuest)

  • We’ve made new documentaries available in Academic Video Online in partnership with Film Platform.
  • to add more than 500 documentaries curated for academic audiences. FILM PLATFORM is known across the world for important, thought-provoking documentaries, including timely films like Human Nature (which explores the far-reaching implications of the controversial CRISPR gene-editing technology) and How to Survive a Plague (a documentary about the early years of the AIDS epidemic). The collection also includes award-winning titles like RBG and An Inconvenient Sequel.

American Psychological Association (APA)

  • Providing free publishing resources to help students in need of APA Style guidance. tutorials and quick guides adapted from Academic Writer®, APA’s tool for teaching and learning effective writing, are now freely available through July 1, 2020. The Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style tutorial will stay on the site for free after that date.
  • Temporary free access to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th and 7th editions), the Concise Guide to APA Style, and more than 160 other books published by APA Books through VitalSource and RedShelf.

Annual Reviews

  • All journals available without access control through June 15, 2020.

BioOne

Cambridge University Press

  • Reference materials on Cambridge Core: Cambridge Companions Online, Cambridge Histories Online, and Elements
  • 700 textbooks are available on Cambridge Core in HTML format - free until the end of May.
  • We have instituted an APC waiver for COVID-19 specific articles, through to the end of June, for authors

Digital Science/Dimensions

  • At Digital Science, we want to support the global research effort to manage and minimize the impact of COVID-19. Dimensions is updated once every 24 hours, so the latest research can be viewed alongside existing information. With its range of research outputs including datasets and clinical trials, both of which are just as important as journal articles in the face of a potential pandemic, Dimensions is a one-stop shop for all COVID-19 related information.
  • The file is available:
    As a Google Sheet: https://bit.ly/2TDDobv
    As an Excel file hosted on figshare: https://bit.ly/38DHyEE
    The file contains the details of (and links to) all relevant publications, data sets and clinical trials. The content has been exported from Dimensions using a query in the openly accessible Dimensions application, which you can access at https://covid-19.dimensions.ai.
    Stats as of 18 March: publications: 2956; trials: 570; datasets: 23.

Duke University Press

  • Free access until to selected books (June 1, 2020) and journals (October 1, 2020) whose subjects relate to navigating the spread of communicable diseases. Listed here

Elsevier

  • Textbooks on ScienceDirect (for ScienceDirect Customers). Elsevier has granted access to 256 textbooks for all active ScienceDirect customers. At Davidson College, the titles can be found through the library catalog, search by title name.

GitHub Student Developer Pack

  • Variety of partnerships with GitHub including premium Html/CSS/Javascript resources, full stack development courses, one-on-one consultations, team-coding platforms, and more for free to students. It is available to all students age 13+ with verification through .edu email verification.
  • Teachers, researchers, faculty, and staff are not eligible for the Pack, but can get free and discounted access to GitHub.

Kanopy

  • Selected content offered at no cost.
  • Discounts on PDA licenses ($100, down from $135)
  • Offers end May 31

Max Planck Institute for the History of Science:

  • The Max Planck Institute for the History of Science has launched a new online resource, History of Science ON CALL: https://www.mpiwg-berlin.mpg.de/research/projects/history-science-on-call 
  • The resource aggregates and amplifies two streams of information—Research and Education—relevant to crises, including chronic disasters. The Research stream consists of 3–5-minute video contributions from scholars who ask questions related to their research field in the context of Covid-19, while the Education stream seeks to aggregate and introduce known resources and materials—scholarship and teaching tools—in order to amplify their reach.

The Metropolitan Opera

  • Live in HD series of encore cinema will be streamed free, viewable on Met Opera on Demand apps and the company website.
  • See press release for more details and the line-up.

ontheboards.tv

  • From now until May 1,2020, streaming on OntheBoards.tv is free for our local, national and global community! Use the code ARTATHOME20.
    • Go to www.ontheboards.tv on a laptop or desktop computer (NOT a mobile device like a tablet or phone)
    • Select any film under the FILMS tab
    • Select the RENT option under PURCHASING OPTIONS
    • Go to CHECKOUT and fill out the contact information, then enter the code ARTATHOME20 under the COUPON section.
    • The code can be used repeatedly until May 1st. 

Portland Press

  • Free access across their seven journals
  • Making all of our content freely available means that we are able to support the community in ensuring that everyone has access to the best research and review content, whether they are researching the pandemic itself, related conditions, underlying pathways and therapeutics, or continuing research in other fields.

ProQuest

  • Over 1700 publisher imprints have agreed to unlimited access to Ebook Central owned ebook holdings for all patrons through June 30
  • Details updated as needed on their blog

ProjectMuse (Multiple publishers)

  • Selected publishers offing free content temporarily, click on the link to see the list of publishers and link directly to their offerings. MUSE search results (muse.jhu.edu/search), by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books.  There are over 2000 open access books and a small number of fully OA journals on the MUSE platform.
  • Project MUSE For Instructors MUSE is here to serve course instructors with a brand new set of resources for discovering course content, facilitating online research, and helping to navigate the challenges and opportunities of e-learning.

Redshelf -Textbooks (multiple publishers)

  • Providing free access to digital textbooks through May 25th. Click the link, search for your textbooks or browse, select the title you need and create a FREE account to access the book through May 25th.

Taylor and Francis

University of California Press

University of Pennsylvania Press Journals

  • Penn Press’ free digital access will be available through June 30, 2020. 
  • In response to these new and extensive demands, the University of Pennsylvania Press is pleased to announce that all content available through the Press’ digital publishing partners will be made accessible at no cost to consumers. The Press is able to provide this accessibility for scholars and readers with the support of its digital publishing partners worldwide: DeGruyter, EBSCO, MUSE, and ProQuest.
  • Library Note: See list of Journals here, click on the title of interest, and read the description to learn which platform the title is on to see full text.

VitalSource-Pearson Textbooks (multiple vendors)

Wiley Online Library

  • Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access
  • In addition to the articles on this site related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and our book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community. On workdays, newly published articles are made free within 24 hours of publication. Articles published after 14:00 (EST) on Friday will be made free the following Monday.

 

 

 

 

 

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com