Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Teaching Resources

Providing Access to Course Materials

Share Accessible Links

When sharing content through email or Moodle, only link out to content from the library catalog, library databases, the College Archives or content that is open access. If there is no access through the library or in the open, use Interlibrary Loan.

Find links to content throughout the library:

         Red and black Davidson banner     Davidson College Archives This is the portal for resources relating to the history of the College.

Find digitized yearbooks and College newspapers plus our Online Davidson Encyclopedia and our blog, Around the D.

Persistent Links

When linking content from a library database, make sure you use a persistent link rather than the url in the address bar.

Persistent Links show up in various places, depending on the database, for instance, in ProQuest the persistent link shows up on the abstract/details of the record:

 

The persistent link is also known as a document URL, persistent URL, PURL, durable link/URL, or stable link/URL.

Enabling Off-Campus Access

To ensure that links are available for use off-campus, add the following prefix to the link: http://ezproxy.lib.davidson.edu/login?url=

i.e. http://ezproxy.lib.davidson.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt32bbd4.35

The ezproxy prefix will route any off-campus user to Davidson single-sign-in.

General Troubleshooting Tips

Occasionally issues may keep you from accessing electronic resources.  Some things you can try to troubleshoot the problem:

  • Access to Davidson electronic resources uses the campus wide Single Sign On system.  If the Single Sign On page is not working please contact T&I. This may be because of a change in their system or an issue with Duo.  If you contact T&I support at helpdesk@davidson.edu should be able to troubleshoot the issue.
  • If you are having difficulty with Duo, please see T&I's Duo Troubleshooting Tips.
  • If you are having difficulty your password, please see T&I's password FAQ. Please note that you can only reset your password from on campus.
  • If it is not a Single Sign On issue, try clearing the cache and deleting cookies in your browser.  Don't know how to do this?  Google "clear cache" or "delete cookies" and the name of your browser.  You can also try using “incognito mode” or “private browsing mode” (depending on your browser), which should allow you to try that browser without clearing the cache. If it works, then you know that clearing the cache and deleting cookies should be effective.
  • Try another internet browser, such as Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, or Safari.
  • If you are using wifi or computers at a different institution or library, there can be firewall issues when trying to connect to Davidson resources.  Try using the internet from another location such as an internet cafe or coffee shop to see if that fixes the problem.

If you continue to experience database connection problems, please contact librarytech@davidson.edu.  Please provide as much information as you can, including the name and version of your browser, the database you are trying to connect to, and any error messages you may be seeing.  If possible, take a screenshot. 

 

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com