Research Guides: Dance 101: Introduction to Dance : Reference Sources/Background

International Encyclopedia of Dance

Biography Index Retrospective 1946-1983
Biography Index Retrospective is an archive index covering notable individuals from all time periods and countries. Indexing and citations include book reviews, interviews, obituaries, diaries and memoirs.
Includes the full text of biographies from major reference works, such as The Grove Dictionary of Art, Current Biography, and The Dictionary of American Religious Biography, among others. Also includes Biography Index (1946-1983).

Fifty Contemporary Choreographers
Martha Bremser and Lorna Sanders. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2011.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance
Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf and Glynis Benbow-Niemier. Detroit: St. James Press, 1988.
Reference Stacks GV1585 .B46 1998 (see record)

Gale eBooks Reference Library
Encyclopedias and reference sources that cover a variety of topics.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Covers the music of the world's peoples and includes an overview of each region of the world, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions, and themes, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Also includes over 300 audio recordings.

International Encyclopedia of Dance
Ed. Selma Jeanne Cohen. 6 vols. New York: Oxford UP, 1998.

Ballet Dictionary
Includes images and short video clips of ABT dancers demonstrating steps and movements. From the American Ballet Theatre.
Dance Encyclopedia
Ed. Anatole Chujoy and P.W. Manchester. New York: Simon and Schuster, [1967].
Reference Stacks R 793.3 C559d (see record)
Dance Words
Comp. Valerie Preston-Dunlop. Chur, Switzerland: Harwood, 1995.
Reference Stacks GV1585 .P74 1995 (see record)
Dictionary of the Dance
Ed. W.G. Raffé. New York: A.S. Barnes, [1965].
Reference Stacks 793.3 R13d (see see record)
International Dictionary of Ballet
Ed. Martha Bremser. 2 vols. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 1993.
Reference Stacks GV1585 .I57 1993 (see record)
International Dictionary of Modern Dance
Ed. Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf. New York: St. James Press, 1998.
Reference Stacks GV1585 .B46 1998 (see record)
Tap Dance Dictionary.
Mark Knowles. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1998.
Reference Stacks GV1794 .K66 1998 (see record)

African-American Traditions in Song, Sermon, Tale, and Dance, 1600s-1920: An Annotated Bibliography of Literature, Collections, and Artworks
Comp. Eileen Southern and Josephine Wright. New York: Greenwood, 1990.
Reference Stacks R 016.7 S727a (see record)
Annotated Bibliography of Oceanic Music and Dance
Mervyn McLean. Warren, MI: Harmonie Park Press, 1995.
Reference Stacks ML120 .I745 M2 1995 (see record)
Dance: An Annotated Bibliography, 1965-1982
Fred R. Forbes, Jr. New York: Garland, 1986.
Reference Stacks R 016.973 F692d (see record)
Dancers and Choreographers: A Selected Bibliography
Leslie Getz. Wakefield, RI: Asphodel Press, 1995.
Reference Stacks GV1785 .G48 1995 (see record)
French Court Dance and Dance Music: A Guide to Primary Source Writings, 1643-1789
Judith L. Schwartz and Christena L. Schlundt. Stuyvesant, NY: Pendragon Press, 1987.
Reference Stacks GV1649 .S30 1987 (see record)
Music and Dance in Puerto Rico from the Age of Columbus to Modern Times: An Annotated Bibliography
Donald Thompson and Annie F. Thompson. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1991.
Reference Stacks R 016.78 T469m (see record)
Music and Dance of the World's Religions: A Comprehensive, Annotated Bibliography of Materials in the English Language
E. Gardner Rust. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1996.
Reference Stacks ML128 .S17 R87 1996 (see record)

Find more reference books

Library Catalog

Citation management

Access Zotero Zotero Guide

Ask Us

Research Assistance
Meet with library staff.
Library Chat
Chat with us online.

Contact Information