(c.1730-1916) Digital collection of primary sources from the long nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Contains the following collections: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Covey Collection; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks.
Periodicals Index Online is a database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. It enables researchers quickly and comprehensively to identify articles relevant to their field of study and reduces what could take years of research to a matter of minutes. Journals indexed span 37 key subject areas and multiple languages.
An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets. Includes digital facsimiles of books, manuscripts, some newspapers, photographs, and more.
Includes:
• 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
• 19th Century UK Periodicals
• American Fiction, 1774-1920
• Archives Unbound
• Archives of Sexuality & Gender
• Associated Press Collections Online
• Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture
• British Library Newspapers
• China from Empire to Republic
• Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture 1790-1920
• Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online
• Indigenous Peoples: North America
• Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
• Nineteenth Century Collections Online
• Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
• Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957
• Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
• Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
• Smithsonian Collections Online
• The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012
• The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
• The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
• The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
• The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
• The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
• The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
• The Making of the Modern World
• The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006
• The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
• The Times Digital Archive, 1822-2021
• Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019
• U.S. Declassified Documents Online
A multi-disciplinary resource, this is a set of collections that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
Primary sources, unpublished historical documents from private and governmental collections.
(1793-1980) English-language sources related to China and the West from the earliest English embassy to the early years of the People's Republic. Includes diaries, letters, manuscripts, maps, photographs, paintings and drawings, documents related to missionary activities (including missionary periodicals), travelers' accounts, and ephemera.
Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals is a collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until the founding of the People's Republic of China in 1949. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949).
A freely accessible relational database provided by Harvard and PKU with biographical information about approximately 360,000 individuals as of 2016, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. With both online and offline versions, the data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference.
Provides detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units. Contents cover historical as well as contemporary facts related to the geographical areas, concerning general surveys, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, natural science, social science, education, culture and sports, public health, etc.
By Academica Sinica in Taiwan "in response of the demands of interdisciplinary research applications, this system aims to construct an integrated GIS-based application infrastructure within the spatial extent of China, in the timeframe of Chinese history, and with the contents of Chinese civilization." (Changes of Names, Borders, Places, etc.)
Australian National University collection of digitized and unique, and in some cases rare and fragile, collections in both print and microfilm relating to the Chinese Cultural Revolution period (1966-1976).
Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters. Provided by the Center for Research Libraries.
From Princeton, the site pulls together materials of interest to anyone doing research in Chinese history (broadly defined) but with a focus on the Ming (1368–1644) and Qing dynasty (1644–1911).
ADH project from the University of California-Merced, this database displays changing names, cities, administrative history during the Song Dynasty from Sinologist Hope Wright's An Alphabetical List of Geographical Names in Sung China (1958).
Provided by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries, The East Asian Collection includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage. Currently, the collection consists of images that document early 20th century China including the the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China.
This digital library provided through Reed College gathers together a large body of primarily European and American images of the island of Taiwan – called "Formosa" by foreign visitors in the nineteenth century – and its various peoples, natural resources, wildlife, and built environment. These textual and visual representations, maps, and linguistic data were originally published in European and North American books and journals during the 19th century, but are not easily accessible to those interested in the history of Taiwan today.
A range of techniques and perspectives are used in the Morning Sun website to reflect on the origins and history of the Cultural Revolution (c.1964-1976). We approach the period not from a simplistic linear perspective, but from a panoptic one, encompassing a broad overview while allowing the user to focus in on individual histories, narratives and events that reveal the complex contradictory forces that led to an era of unrivalled revolutionary fervor and political turmoil.
The North China Herald and Supreme Court and Consular Gazette
Shanghai Political and Economic Reports, (1849-1943)
Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council (original English texts and Chinese translation), 1854-1943, (Shanghai: Shanghai guji chubanshe, 2001) (Some libraries list this under “Gong bu ju dong shi hui yi lu” in their Chinese collections).
Shanghai Municipal Police Files (1894-1949) 67 reels of microfilm.
United States, Consulate (Shanghai, China). Despatches from United States consuls in Shanghai, 1847-1906. 53 reels of microfilm.
See attached spreadsheet for locations at Davidson
