Find the best library databases for your research.
Note: Use the Subjects and Types drop-down menus to filter the list of databases. Databases in the General subject area indicate multi-disciplinary resources useful for many subject areas.
The Featured databases include multi-disciplinary resources that are a good starting point for many subject areas.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Gain access to rare primary source documents with these topically focused digital collections. Supports academic research.
Note: Several additional modules added in 2025 within Asian Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, and Latin American & Caribbean Studies.
Includes plays written by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Provides historical evidence demonstrating how society has interacted with and regarded individuals considered to have disabilities.
The backfiles of 20th and 21st-century magazines titles that range from political publications to those concerned with lifestyle, fashion / beauty, culture, and identity.
Trial access ends Nov. 22, 2025. Collection of magazines from South, East, and West Africa documenting Black African life—including regional editions of DRUM from the 1950s to 1990s.
Includes The Times Atlas collection, 16 Comprehensive and three Pre-Comprehensive editions covering 1895-2023.
View only, downloading not available at this time.
The most frequently-used databases
Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images. AI interactive research tool available when logged into your JSTOR account.
Multidisciplinary collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Search includes all of the Davidson College Library ProQuest databases.
This database contains peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
An interdisciplinary resource with journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Davidson College Library Research Guides © YEAR are licensed under
CC BY-SA 4.0.
