It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.
--Academic Search Complete
--Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
--Art Full Text
--Art Index Retrospective
--ATLA Religion Database
--Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
--Biography Reference Bank
--Book Review Digest Plus
--Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982
--Communication & Mass Media Complete
--Essay and General Literature Retrospective
--Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
--Film & Television Literature Index
--Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
--Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
--Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
--Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
--International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
--MLA International Bibliography
--OmniFile Full Text Mega
--Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
--RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
--Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983
JSTOR access includes over 50,000 eBooks; full-text archive of the back issues of major scholarly journals; 19th Century British Pamphlets, a collection of journals, monographs, and manuscripts related to Ireland, and some current journal issues. The eBooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format.
Now our largest collection of full-text article databases!
(c. 1800 to present) Multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Also contains citations to additional materials. Includes all of our ProQuest databases.
Includes the following:
-- ABI/Inform Complete
-- Accounting & Tax
--Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)
--Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
--Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
--Banking Information Source
--BioOne Abstracts & Indexes
--Biotechnology Research Abstracts
--Canadian Newsstand Complete
--COS Conference Papers Index
--Environmental Engineering Abstracts
--Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
--Environmental Impact Statements: Full Text
--Health & Safety Science Abstracts
--Hoover's Company Profiles
--Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
--Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
--Periodicals Archive Online
--Periodicals Index Online
--Physical Education Index
--PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
--ProQuest Asian Business & Reference
--ProQuest Biology Journals
--ProQuest Career and Technical Education
--ProQuest Criminal Justice
--ProQuest Deep Indexing: Environmental Sciences
--ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
--ProQuest Education Journals
--ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
--ProQuest Environmental Science Journals
--ProQuest European Business
--ProQuest Family Health
--ProQuest Health & Medical Complete
--ProQuest Health Management
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
--ProQuest Military Collection
--ProQuest Materials Science Database
--ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
--ProQuest Political Science
--ProQuest Psychology Journals
--ProQuest Research Library
--ProQuest Science Journals
--ProQuest Social Science Journals
--Social Services Abstracts
--Sustainability Science Abstracts
--The Wall Street Journal
--Water Resources Abstracts
--Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
(c. 1900 to present) An interdisciplinary resource with over 20,000 scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, also navigate the full citation network.
Access is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial ends October 23, 2020. This collection was created in partnership with leading African American genealogists and recognized leaders in genealogical information to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically pertaining to African Americans. The newest primary source collections include North Carolina cohabitation records, North Carolina and West Virginia marriage records, U.S. Colored Troops Records (1861-1865), and registers of slaves and free persons of color from select states and counties. Exclusive access to an updated, online edition of Black Genesis, an exhaustive guide that makes locating resources pertaining to slaves and free blacks easier.
Trial ends October 30, 2020. Features 64 newspapers from across the African continent, all published before 1900. From culture to history to geopolitics, the pages of these newspapers offer fresh research opportunities for students and scholars interested in topics related to Africa. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements. obituaries and military reports, the newspapers in this one-of-a-kind collection chronicle African history and daily life as never before. Among other highlights, African Newspapers: The British Library Collection includes publications from Djibouti, Egypt, Mauritius and Saint Helena, as well as deep new coverage of Ghana, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and South Africa.
Ancestry Library Edition, has unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada, Europe, Australia and other areas of the world. With thousands of databases and billions of indexed names, Ancestry also offers an intuitive new Explore by Location feature. This enhancement allows researchers to quickly access records by geographic location to focus in on records relevant to a place your ancestor may have lived.
Trail ends October 29, 2020. Digitalia Film Library (streaming video) is a multilingual collection of films from Spain, France and other European countries, North American Classic films, and Latin American films from South America, Central America and Caribbean including Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Brazil, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Guatemala and others. This library now has approximately 1,200+ films, unlimited use and unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Trial ends October 29, 2020. This collection contains approximately 39,000 academic e-books and e-journals in Spanish language published in Spain and Latin America covering a wide range of subjects from Art and Literature to Science and Technology. All titles with the PDF view also have an audio viewer that allows users to listen to the text while reading. View in PDF, HTML, EPUB, download with Adobe for up to 20 days.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. Access includes including Second Edition, Three, Atlas, Glossary.
Available until 12/31/2020. HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,700 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
Trial ends October 30, 2020. Includes more than 1,600 publications about the relationship between Native Americans and European settlers, featuring text exploration tools, author biographies, and suggested search paths for easy browsing and discovery. The documents in Native American Indians, 1645-1819, include treaties, transcribed letters from Native American leaders, the minutes of tribal meetings, histories of numerous tribes, missionary reports, captivity narratives, firsthand accounts of battles, trading records, military rosters, expedition logs and maps, trial records, legislative bills, books on Native American languages and grammar, military rosters, governors’ and legislators’ reports, ballads, songs, plays and more.
The documents in Native American Indians, 1645-1819, are derived from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, Library Company of Philadelphia and many other institutions.
Trial ends October 30, 2020. The official history of every American territory before it became an American state, sourced from the National Archives of the United States. A collection of Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more. For the first time, the Territorial Papers are available in a digital online collection, offering unparalleled research opportunities for anyone interested in the creation of modern-day America. Series 1-4.