It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Tools: Getting Started
An alphabetical list of indexes, databases, and digital collections.
Find books, e-books, videos, periodicals, and federal government documents in our library; it also includes citations to many articles. You can use the Davidson Library Catalog to locate books and selected articles held by other libraries too.
Over 200,000 e-books published by academic, trade, and professional publishers; covers all subject areas. Includes tools that allow you to create your own virtual bookshelf, bookmark pages, and add and save notes and highlights. Some titles can be downloaded for short-term use; some allow chapter downloads. Limitations on copying, saving, and printing vary by title, and reset after 24 hours. To locate ebooks without user limitations use the Advanced Search option. Near the end of the page, you'll find a field for "Number of Copies." Select "More Than 1" or "Unlimited."
Search across most EbscoHost article databases as well as the Ebsco e-book collection; interdisciplinary in scope. Note: this search excludes America: History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and L'Année philologique.
--Academic Search Complete
--Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
--Art Full Text
--Art Index Retrospective
--ATLA Religion Database
--Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983
--Biography Reference Bank
--Book Review Digest Plus
--Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982
--Communication & Mass Media Complete
--Essay and General Literature Retrospective
--Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
--Film & Television Literature Index
--Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
--Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
--Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
--Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
--International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
--MLA International Bibliography
--OmniFile Full Text Mega
--Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
--RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
--Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. A good source for background information. Download, print, or email as many chapters as you like. You can even send chapters to your Google or Microsoft account.
Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. With an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, students can create individual user IDs and passwords to enable the setting of alerts, and saving searches and documents of interest. Collaboration tools make it easy for students to team up on research projects efficiently.
Use is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.
Now our largest collection of full-text article databases!
(c. 1800 to present) Multidisciplinary collection of full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and more. Also contains citations to additional materials. Includes all of our ProQuest databases.
Includes the following:
-- ABI/Inform Complete
-- Accounting & Tax
--Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
--Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)
--Arts & Humanities
--Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
--Banking Information Source
--BioOne Abstracts & Indexes
--Biotechnology Research Abstracts
--Canadian Newsstand Complete
--COS Conference Papers Index
--Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science
--Environmental Science Collection
--Health & Medical
--Hoover's Company Profiles
--Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
--Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
--Nursing & Allied Health
--Periodicals Archive Online
--Periodicals Index Online
--Physical Education Index
--PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
--ProQuest Asian Business & Reference
--ProQuest Biology Journals
--ProQuest Career and Technical Education
--ProQuest Criminal Justice
--ProQuest Deep Indexing: Environmental Sciences
--ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
--ProQuest Education Journals
--ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
--ProQuest Environmental Science Journals
--ProQuest European Business
--ProQuest Family Health
--ProQuest Health & Medical Complete
--ProQuest Health Management
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Atlanta Constitution
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
--ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post
--ProQuest Military Collection
--ProQuest Materials Science Database
--ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
--ProQuest Political Science
--ProQuest Psychology Journals
--ProQuest Research Library
--ProQuest Science Journals
--ProQuest Social Science Journals
--Social Services Abstracts
--Sustainability Science Abstracts
--The Wall Street Journal
--Water Resources Abstracts
--Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
(c. 1900 to present) An interdisciplinary resource with over 20,000 scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, also navigate the full citation network.
Access is restricted to current faculty and staff and currently-enrolled students of Davidson College only.