Skip to main content

History 243: Native Women: Primary sources

Davidson College Archives & Special Collections

The Indian Tribes of North America with Biographical Sketches and Anecdotes of the Principle Chiefs, 1934

A modern reprint of "one of the most important 19th-century works on the American Indian," and "one of the most important color plate books produced in America in the age of lithography." McKenney, the commissioner of Indian Affairs, collaborated with James Hall to produce this book. The work is famous for its color plate portraits of the chiefs, based on original oils by Charles Bird King and others. 

The Southern Presbyterian Review

Published out of various cities in the southern United States between 1847 and 1885, the Review contains articles written by several Presbyterian theologians - some with connections to Davidson and Mecklenburg County.

Many of these articles comment on the scriptural justifications for slavery, abolition, temperance, and the differing social roles of men and women. Other articles describe mission work with freedmen, native and indigenous, and international populations. 

Woman’s Work for Woman and Our Mission Field

Volume 2, No. 12, December 1887, published by the Women’s Foreign Missionary Societies of the Presbyterian Church. 

Cumming Map Collection

The collection includes 48 early maps of the North American continent and its regions, with a special focus on the Southeast. Several maps include depictions of Native persons, as well as Native nations, tribes, and territories. 

Other resources online

Additional guides

Indigenous history Primary source collections

Licensed collections

These collections are licensed by the library for Davidson students, faculty, and staff use

Publicly available collections

These collections are made publicly available online by their host institutions

Other collections

Questions? Need help? Ask Us
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com