The records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics support the study of American legal history and complement the modules in the Making of Modern Law series. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records.
The papers are held at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library at Princeton University.
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond.
The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
Davidson now has access to part 1 and part 2.
Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 is an archive comprising more than 2 million pages. It contains manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals, some of the printed matter very scarce, such as Mary Fortune's 1871 The Detective's Album, a pioneering police procedural by a woman author, of which only two hard copies survive. Other material has been held in archives, often widely dispersed, and not always readily accessible to the researcher. Now such matter is digitized and carefully curated to present unparalleled opportunities for study, available all over the world.
Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective
Contains more than 4,500 publications on women's issues from the U.S., the U.K., Canada, New Zealand, and continental Europe, collected by Aletta Jacobs, a Dutch physician and feminist, along with her husband C.V. Gerritsen, in the late 1800s.
The database consists of two segments:
The Periodical Series: This segment represents about 25 percent of the material in the database. It comprises 265 titles, including The Suffragist (1913-21) and The Women's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1912-18).
Monograph Language Series: These 4,471 monographs and pamphlets make up about 75 percent of the collection. Included are 2,336 titles tracing suffragism in the English-speaking world. The collection will soon include 929 German titles that document the history of organized movements in Germany and Switzerland, and 734 French titles that cover women's issues from Gallic times through World War II. Another 472 titles representing 12 languages will also be available.
(c.1700s to the present) A collection of full-text literary works, memoirs, essays, and feminist works written by women in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Most of the texts are in Spanish and Portuguese.
(c. 1700s to 1950) Full text letters, diaries, and excerpts of diaries written by American women from the colonial era to the mid twentieth century. Includes texts that were written contemporaneously; excludes memoirs. Provides biographical information for many of the authors.
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Part 2 is available through May 2019 via the ProQuest Access & Build project
Focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries, Women's Studies Archive provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, it presents a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements.
(1914-1918) Digital facsimiles of over 29,000 primary sources related to women's contributions to WWI and the impact of the war on them. Includes photographs, posters, magazines, correspondence, diaries, pamphlets, cuttings from newspapers, and more.
Documents are drawn from the Women at Work Collection at the Imperial War Museum in London.
A collection of primary sources organized around more than 41 document clusters, selected by experts in the field, each of whom has written a scholarly essay that provides context and interpretation for the documents in their cluster. Documents not in English are accompanied by an English abstract.