Search by KeywordSearch by TitleSearch by AuthorSearch by SubjectSearch VideosSearch Articles
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Davidson Library Worldcat" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Davidson Library Worldcat  

Information about Davidson Library Worldcat, including how to search and create accounts.
Last Updated: Dec 12, 2014 URL: http://davidson.libguides.com/dlw Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting started

This guide will introduce you to the Davidson Library Worldcat.

The guide is organized as follows:

To navigate, click the tabs at the top of the guide.

Note: For a quick, printable overview of searching, see our getting started handout (pdf).

 

What Davidson Library WorldCat does

Davidson Library Worldcat is the library's catalog, but it is much more than a traditional catalog. It provides information about the books, videos, government documents, archival resources, and periodicals held by our library; it also includes links to full-text resources and citations to millions of articles. In addition, you can use it to extend your search beyond Davidson and locate books and selected articles held by other libraries.

We hope that Davidson Library Worldcat will be a useful starting point for your research.

 

What Davidson Library Worldcat contains

At this time, Davidson Library Worldcat contains:

  • Records for the 1.4 million books, e-books, periodicals, videos, government documents, archival resources, and maps in the Davidson College Library
  • Records for over 200 million books, videos, government documents, archival resources, and maps held by over 72,000 libraries worldwide
    This is the content in Worldcat Classic; you can submit interlibrary loan requests for many of these materials.
  • Citations to articles in the following databases and collections:
    • ArticleFirst
      An interdisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals (1990 to present)
    • ERIC
      Over 1.3 million citations to education-related articles, books, papers, and other materials
    • JSTOR
      Articles in over 1,400 scholarly journals
    • MEDLINE
      Indexes over 5,500 biomedical journals (1946 to present)
    • British Library Inside Serials
      Article citations from over 20,000 journals (1993 to present)
    • PapersFirst
      Over 6.9 million citations to conference papers (1993 to present)
    • ProceedingsFirst
      Over 190,000 citations to conference proceedings (1993 to present)
    • OAIster
      Citations to freely-accessible digital archival resources.
 

Davidson Library WorldCat

See our quick guide to searching Davidson Library WorldCat.

 

Questions? Need help?

Ask a Librarian!

 

Research Services:

Online Research Direction

Self-guided access to our subject guides, online tutorials, and online resources.

Peer Research Advising

Personal instruction from a Peer Research Advisor at the information desk. 

Research Librarian Guidance

Personal instruction from a Research Librarian. 

Research Rescue

Personal instruction in a group setting from Peer Research Advisors and Research Librarians in the Fishbowl. 

Scheduled Consultations

Dedicated and in-depth personal instruction from a Research Librarian.

Note: If you are not affiliated with the college, research help may be limited. We can always help with U.S. Government information, federal government documents on deposit in our library, and materials that are unique to Davidson College.

Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip