Skip to main content

How to Find Scholarly Journals and Articles: Home

Finding scholarly articles

What exactly is a scholarly article? 

By most definitions, a scholarly article is a academic journal article that goes through a peer review process.

You can find scholarly articles by looking on a library database or browsing an academic journal

Selecting a database

Here at Davidson we have numerous databases to use for finding scholarly articles. One great way to select a good database is to determine what subject areas are relevant to the article you are looking for. 

To browse databases and other resources by subject, go to Guides By Subject

All databases work a little differently, but to get a broad overview of how to search in one, watch at the Find a Scholarly Article on EbscoHost Tutorial.

What you need to know about finding scholarly journals

If you know the title of the article or journal you are looking search for it with the Journal Finder

Sometimes the library does not carry the journal you want, or does not have access to the year in which the article appears
In this case, submit an Interlibrary Loan Request

Using the Journal Finder to your advantage

You might come across a citation of an article that you want to find.

To locate the article with the journal finder, determine the Journal Title, Year, Volume, and Issue Number 

In this citation:

Bazerman, C. (1981). What Written Knowledge Does: Three Examples of Academic Discourse. Philosophy of the Social Sciences,11(3). 

  • The Journal Title is Philosophy of the Social Sciences
  • The Year is 1981
  • The Volume is 11
  • The Issue Number is 3

Search for the journal title on the Journal Finder:

An illustration demonstrating the Journal Finder in action

In this case, we have the journal Philosophy of the Social Sciences for the year 1986 in the databases Proquest Periodicals Archive and Sage Deep Backfile. You can browse the journal in these databases to find the relevant volume and issue number.

Ask a Librarian

consultation

Schedule a Consultation
with a research librarian
info_desk

Stop by the information desk
call_text

Text us: 704-308-3732 or
Call: 704-894-2425
Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com