Skip to main content

How to Find Books

Classification Systems

Most books in the library are organized by two classification systems:  Dewey Decimal and Library of Congress.  The Dewey Decimal books have a call number that starts with a number (ex. 142.780973 C826e) and are located on the second floor of the library; the Library of Congress books have a call number that starts with a letter (ex. PS3608.O832 K58 2003) and are located in the basement. 

You can find a book's call number and location information about whether or not it is at Davidson and available by searching for it in Davidson Library Catalog:

Catalog view with Trees as example

 If you can't find what you're looking for, please don't hesitate to ask a librarian.

A. General Works

  • AC. Collections, Series, Collected Works
  • AE. Encyclopedias (General)
  • AG. Dictionaries and Other General Reference Works
  • AI. Indexes
  • AM. Museums, Collectors and Collecting
  • AN. Newspapers
  • AP. Periodicals
  • AS. Academies and Learned Societies
  • AY. Yearbooks, Almanacs, Directories
  • AZ. History of Scholarship and Learning

B. Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion

  • B. History and Systems of Philosophy
  • BC. Logic
  • BD. Metaphysics, Speculative Philosophy
  • BF. Psychology
  • BH. Aesthetics
  • BJ. Ethics
  • BL. Religions, Mythology, Rationalism
  • BM. Judaism
  • BP. Islam, Baha'ism, Theosophy
  • BQ. Buddhism
  • BR-BX. Christianity

C. Auxiliary Sciences of History

  • C. Auxiliary Sciences of History (General)
  • CB. History of Civilization (General)
  • CC. Archaeology
  • CD. Diplomatics, Archives
  • CE. Technical Chronology, Calendars
  • CJ. Numismatics
  • CN. Inscriptions, Epigraphy
  • CR. Heraldry
  • CS. Genealogy
  • CT. Biography

D. History: General and Old World

  • D. History (General)
  • DA. Great Britain
  • DAW. Central Europe
  • DB. Austria, Liechtenstein, Hungary, Czech Republic
  • DC. France, Andorra, Monaco
  • DD. Germany
  • DE. Mediterranean Region
  • DF. Greece
  • DG. Italy, Malta
  • DH-DJ. Low Countries, Benelux Countries, Netherlands
  • DJK. Eastern Europe (General)
  • DK. Russia, Soviet Union, Former Soviet Republics, Poland
  • DP. Spain, Portugal
  • DQ. Switzerland
  • DR. Balkan Peninsula
  • DS. Asia
  • DT. Africa
  • DU. Oceania (South Seas)
  • DX. Romanies

E. History: Americas (General)

  • E11-143. America (General)
  • E151-185.98. United States (General)
  • E186-199. Colonial History (1607-1775)
  • E201-298. The Revolution (1775-1783)
  • E300-453. Revolution to the Civil War (1783-1861)
  • E456-655. Civil War Period (1861-1865)
  • E660-738. Late Nineteenth Century (1865-1900)
  • E740-837.7. Twentieth Century (1900-1961)
  • E838-889. Later Twentieth Century (1961-2000)
  • E895-904. Twenty-First Century

F. History: Americas (Local)

  • F. United States Local History
  • F1-105. New England
  • F106-205. Atlantic Coast, Middle Atlantic States
  • F206-295. The South, South Atlantic States
  • F251-265. North Carolina
  • F296-395. Gulf States
  • F396-475. Old Southwest, Lower Mississippi Valley
  • F476-590. Old Northwest, Northwest Territory
  • F590.3-705. The West, Trans-Mississippi Region, Great Plains
  • F721-785. Rocky Mountains, Yellowstone National Park
  • F786-850. New Southwest, Colorado River, Canyon, and Valley
  • F850.5-951. Pacific States
  • F965-975. Territories and Insular Possessions of the United States
  • F10001-1145.2 British America (including Canada), Dutch America
  • F1170. French America
  • F1201-3799. Latin America, Spanish America

G. Geography and Anthropology

  • G. Geography (General), Atlases, Maps
  • GA. Mathematical Geography, Cartography
  • GB. Physical Geography
  • GC. Oceanography
  • DG. Environmental Sciences
  • GF. Human Ecology, Anthropogeography
  • GN. Anthropology
  • GR. Folklore
  • GT. Manners and Customs
  • GV. Recreation and Leisure

H. Social Sciences and Business

  • H. Social Sciences (General)
  • HA. Statistics
  • HB. Economic Theory
  • HC. Economic History and Conditions
  • HD. Industries, Land Use, Labor
  • HE. Transportation and Communication
  • HF. Commerce
  • HG-HJ. Finance
  • HM. Sociology (General)
  • HN. Social History and Conditions, Social Problems, Social Reform
  • HQ. The Family, Marriage, Women
  • HS. Societies: Secret, Benevolent, etc.
  • HT. Communities, Classes, Races
  • HV. Social Pathology, Social and Public Welfare, Criminology
  • H. Socialism, Communism, Anarchism

J. Political Science

  • J. General Legislative and Executive Papers
  • JA. Political Science (General)
  • JC. Political Theory
  • JF-JQ. Political Institutions and Public Administration
  • JS. Local Government and Municipal Government
  • JV. Colonies and Colonization, Emigration and Immigration, Internal Migration
  • JZ. International Relations

K. Law

  • K. Law in General, Comparative and Uniform Law, Jurisprudence
  • KB. Religious Law in General, Comparative Religious Law, Jurisprudence
  • KBM. Jewish Law
  • KBP. Islamic Law
  • KBR. History of Canon Law
  • KBU. Law of the Roman Catholic Church, The Holy See
  • KD-KDK. America, North America
  • KE. Canada
  • KF. United States
  • KG. Latin America, Mexico and Central America, West Indies, Caribbean Area
  • KH. South America
  • KJ-KKZ. Europe
  • KL-KWX. Asia and Eurasia, Africa, Pacific Area, and Antarctica
  • KZ. Law of Nations

L. Education

  • L. Education (General)
  • LA. History of Education
  • LB. Theory and Practice of Education
  • LC. Special Aspects of Education
  • LD-LG. Individual Institutions
  • LH. College and School Magazines and Papers
  • LJ. Student Fraternities and Societies: Unites States
  • LT. Textbooks

M. Music

  • M. Music
  • ML. Literature on Music
  • MT. Instruction and Study

N. Fine Arts

  • N. Visual Arts
  • NA. Architecture
  • NB. Sculpture
  • NC. Drawing, Design, Illustration
  • ND. Painting
  • NE. Print Media
  • NK. Decorative Arts
  • NX. Arts in General

P. Language and Literature

  • P. Philology and Linguistics
  • PA. Greek and Latin Languages and Literature
  • PB-PH. Modern European Languages
  • PJ-PL. Oriental Languages and Literature
  • PM. Hyperborean, Indian, and Artificial Languages
  • PN. Literature (General)
  • PQ. French, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese Literature
  • PR. English Literature
  • PS. American Literature
  • PT. Germanic Literature
  • PZ. Fiction and Juvenile Belles Lettres

Q. Science and Mathematics

  • Q. Science (General)
  • QA. Mathematics and Computer Science
  • QB. Astronomy
  • QC. Physics
  • QD. Chemistry
  • QE. Geology
  • QH. Natural History, Biology
  • QK. Botany
  • QL. Zoology
  • QM. Human Anatomy
  • QP. Physiology
  • QR. Microbiology

R. Medicine

  • R. Medicine (General)
  • RA. Public Aspects of Medicine
  • RB. Pathology
  • RC. Internal Medicine
  • RD. Surgery
  • RE. Opthalmology
  • RF. Otorhinolaryngology
  • RG. Gynecology and Obstetrics
  • RJ. Pediatrics
  • RK. Dentistry
  • DR. Dermatology
  • RM. Therapeutics and Pharmacology
  • RS. Pharmacy
  • RT. Nursing
  • RV. Botanic, Thomsonian, and Eclectic Medicine
  • RX. Homeopathy
  • RZ. Other Systems of Medicine

S. Agriculture

  • S. Agriculture (General)
  • SB. Plant Culture
  • SD. Forestry
  • SF. Animal Culture
  • SH. Aquaculture, Fisheries, Angling
  • SK. Hunting Sports

T. Technology

  • T. Technology (General)
  • TA. Engineering (General), Civic Engineering
  • TC. Hydraulic Engineering, Ocean Engineering
  • TD. Environmental Technology, Sanitary Engineering
  • TE. Highway Engineering, Roads and Pavements
  • TF. Railroad Engineering and Operation
  • TG. Bridge Engineering
  • TH. Building Construction
  • TJ. Mechanical Engineering and Machinery
  • TK. Electrical Engineering, Electronics, Nuclear Engineering
  • TL. Motor Vehicles, Aeronautics, Astronautics
  • TN. Mining Engineering, Metallurgy
  • TP. Chemical Technology
  • TR. Photography
  • TS. Manufactures
  • TT. Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts
  • TX. Home Economics

U. Military Science

  • U. Military Science (General)
  • UA. Armies: Organization, Distribution, Military Situation
  • UB. Military Administration
  • UC. Maintenance and Transportation
  • UD. Infantry
  • UE. Calvary and Armor
  • UF. Artillery
  • UG. Military Engineering and Air Forces
  • UH. Other Services

V. Naval Science

  • V. Naval Science (General)
  • VA. Navies: Organization, Distribution, Naval Situation
  • VB. Naval Administration
  • VC. Naval Maintenance
  • VD. Naval Seamen
  • VE. Marines
  • VF. Naval Ordnance
  • VG. Minor Services of Navies
  • VK. Navigation and Merchant Marine
  • VM. Naval Architecture, Shipbuilding, Marine Engineering

Z. Bibliography, Library Science, and Information Resources

  • Z. Books (General), Writing, Books Industries and Trade, Libraries, Bibliography
  • ZA. Information Resources (General)

000 Computers, Information, and General Works

  • 010 Bibliographies
  • 020 Library & Information Science
  • 030 Encyclopedias & Books of Facts
  • 040 Special Topics [unassigned]
  • 050 Magazines, Journals, Serials, and their Indices
  • 060 Associations, Organizations, & Museums
  • 070 New Media, Journalism, Publishing
  • 080 General Collections
  • 090 Manuscripts & Rare Books

100 Philosophy & Psychology

  • 110 Metaphysics
  • 120 Epistemology, Causation, Humankind
  • 130 Parapsychology & Occultism
  • 140 Specific Philosophical Schools
  • 150 Psychology
  • 160 Logic
  • 170 Ethics
  • 180 Ancient, Medieval, and Eastern Philosophy
  • 190 Modern Western Philosophy

200 Religion

  • 210 Philosophy & Theory of Religion
  • 220 The Bible
  • 230 Christianity & Christian Theology
  • 240 Christian Practice & Observance
  • 250 Christian Pastoral Practice and Religious Orders
  • 260 Christian Organization, Social Work, & Worship
  • 270 History of Christianity
  • 280 Christian Denominations & Sects
  • 290 Other Religions & Comparative Religion

300 Social Sciences, Sociology, and Anthropology

  • 310 General Statistics
  • 320 Political Science
  • 330 Economics
  • 340 Law
  • 350 Public Administration & Military Science
  • 360 Social Problems & Social Services
  • 370 Education
  • 380 Commerce, Communications, & Transportation
  • 390 Customs, Etiquette, & Folklore

400 Language

  • 410 Linguistics
  • 420 English & Old English Languages
  • 430 German & Related Languages
  • 440 French & Related Languages
  • 450 Italian, Romanian, & Related Languages
  •  460 Spanish & Portuguese Languages
  • 470 Latin & Italic Languages
  • 480 Classical & Modern Greek Languages
  • 490 Other Languages

500 Natural Science & Mathematics

  • 510 Mathematics
  • 520 Astronomy & Allied Sciences
  • 530 Physics
  • 540 Chemistry & Allied Sciences
  • 550 Earth Sciences & Geology
  • 560 Paleontology & Paleozoology
  • 570 Life Sciences & Biology
  • 580 Botany (Plant Sciences)
  • 590 Zoological Sciences

600 Technology

  • 610 Medicine & Health
  • 620 Engineering
  • 630 Agriculture
  • 640 Home and Family Management
  • 650 Management & Public Relations
  • 660 Chemical Engineering
  • 670 Manufacturing
  • 680 Manufacture for Specific Use
  • 690 Building & Construction

700 The Arts

  • 710 Landscaping & Area Planning
  • 720 Architecture
  • 730 Sculpture, Ceramics, & Metalwork
  • 740 Drawing & Decorative Arts
  • 750 Paintings & Painters
  • 760 Graphic Arts (e.g. Printmaking & Prints)
  • 770 Photography
  • 780 Music
  • 790 Recreational and Performing Arts

800 Literature, Rhetoric, & Criticism

  • 810 American Literature in English
  • 820 English & Old English Literatures
  • 830 German & Related Literatures
  • 840 French & Related Literatures
  • 850 Italian, Romanian, & Related Literatures
  • 860 Spanish & Portuguese Literatures
  • 870 Latin & Italic Literatures
  • 880 Classical & Modern Greek Literatures
  • 890 Literatures of Other Languages

900 Geography & History

  • 910 Geography & Travel
  • 920 Biography, Genealogy, & Insignia
  • 930 History of the Ancient World (to c. 499)
  • 940 History of Europe
  • 950 History of Asia
  • 960 History of Africa
  • 970 History of North American
  • 980 History of South America
  • 990 History of Other Areas

For a Library of Congress to Dewey Decimal conversion chart, click here.

For a Dewey Decimal to Library of Congress conversion chart, click here.

Loading ...
Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com