Skip to main content

Zotero: Creating Bibliographies

Creating Bibliographies

Zotero allows you to easily create bibliographies (in any bibliographic style) a few different ways.

First, you can add citations to your document using Zotero's in-text citation function and simply click the "Insert bibliography" icon within Microsoft Word using the Microsoft Word Zotero plug-in (or OpenOffice/LibreOffice/NeoOffice plug-ins). Once you've got the plug-in installed, your Zotero tools can be found in the "Add-Ins" tab (Microsoft Word 2007).

You can always change the bibliographic style by going into Preferences and choosing a different style. There is no need to regenerate the bibliography; Zotero will automatically make the adjustments.

Click the "Insert Bibliography" icon (third from left) to automatically create a bibliography in the style you've chosen. It's really that easy!

generating a bibliography in Word

 

Quick Copy: drag and drop your resources to create a bibliography in seconds!

Another way to create a bibliography is to use Zotero's Quick Copy function. To configure Quick Copy (aka "drag and drop"), click on the Actions icon (looks like a gear) > Preferences > Export > choose your default output bibliographic style > click OK. Now you are ready to create a bibliography using Quick Copy.

Simply select/highlight and then drag and drop the desired resources from your Zotero library pane into your word processing document, Google doc, new email message, blog post, etc. It's really that easy!

dragging and dropping a citation with Zotero

Zotero will automatically create an alphabetized, formatted bibliography with just one click!

Attribution

This guide is based on the Zotero LibGuide by Marie Sciangula

Ask a Librarian

consultation

Schedule a Consultation
with a research librarian
info_desk

Stop by the information desk
call_text

Call: 704-894-2331
Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
Creative Commons license logo for CC by-sa 4.0
This Davidson College Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com