Skip to main content
This guide will introduce you to the Davidson Library Worldcat.
The guide is organized as follows:
To navigate, click the tabs at the top of the guide.
Note: For a quick, printable overview of searching, see our getting started handout (pdf).
What Davidson Library WorldCat does
Davidson Library Worldcat is the library's catalog, but it is much more than a traditional catalog. It provides information about the books, videos, government documents, archival resources, and periodicals held by our library; it also includes links to full-text resources and citations to millions of articles. In addition, you can use it to extend your search beyond Davidson and locate books and selected articles held by other libraries.
We hope that Davidson Library Worldcat will be a useful starting point for your research.
What Davidson Library Worldcat contains
At this time, Davidson Library Worldcat contains:
- Records for the 1.4 million books, e-books, periodicals, videos, government documents, archival resources, and maps in the Davidson College Library
- Records for over 200 million books, videos, government documents, archival resources, and maps held by over 72,000 libraries worldwide
You can submit interlibrary loan requests for many of these materials.
- Citations to articles in the following databases and collections:
An interdisciplinary database indexing over 16,000 journals (1990 to present)
Over 1.3 million citations to education-related articles, books, papers, and other materials
Articles in over 1,400 scholarly journals
Indexes over 5,500 biomedical journals (1946 to present)
- British Library Inside Serials
Article citations from over 20,000 journals (1993 to present)
Over 6.9 million citations to conference papers (1993 to present)
Over 190,000 citations to conference proceedings (1993 to present)
Citations to freely-accessible digital archival resources.
Davidson Library Worldcat
Ask a Librarian
Stop by the information desk
Research Help Available:
Text us: 704-308-3732 or
Questions? Need help? Ask a Librarian
Davidson College Library, Box 7200, 209 Ridge Rd., Davidson, NC 28035-7200
All box-title icons from Entypo pictograms by Daniel Bruce — www.entypo.com