A collection of over 2 million photographs, 1 million audio clips, 48,000 diagrams, charts, maps, and timelines, and 2.8 million news briefs from the Associated Press (AP). Photographs and graphics from the Archive cannot be sold, syndicated, loaned, or used for advertising or for trade without the written consent of the AP. In addition, users cannot republish any of the photographs on a Web page.
Photographs and graphics from AP Images cannot be sold, syndicated, loaned or used for advertising or for trade without the written consent of AP. In addition, users cannot republish any of the photographs on a Web page.
Owners of copyrighted images sometimes give permission to use these images through licenses.
Over one million digital images; covers a wide range of cultures and time periods and includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, visual culture, and anthropological and ethnographic materials. Also includes tools to manipulate and analyze the images.
See the Terms & Conditions of Use and the Permitted & Prohibited Uses for information about how you can use images form this database. Please note that images may only be shared with others to access the Library; images may not be posted on unrestricted websites and printed copies may only be distributed to those with authorized access to the Library.
Images may be used for noncommercial, educational, and scholarly purposes by Davidson students and faculty. Please note that they may only be posted to Davidson-restricted Web sites and must not be shared with others outside the college.
A portal for searching sites that contain images with Creative Commons (CC) licenses. Search engines include Flickr, Fotopedia, Google Images, and Open Clip Art Library; not all images in these search engines have CC licenses, but the default search in this portal is for licensed images. The site states, "Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a CC license. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link...If you are in doubt you should contact the copyright holder directly, or try to contact the site where you found the content."
Public domain images
Images without copyright protection are in the public domain, ususally because the copyright has expired or the image was created by the U.S. government.
A collection of over 9 million primary source documents and archival materials related to American history and culture. There are 67 collections containing photos and prints; these can be browsed or searched as a group or individually. Note: Not all images in American Memory are copyright-free. Each collection has its own copyright statement, so be sure to check these before using any images form this site. For more information, see the Copyright and Primary Sources and Legal pages of this site.
From the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, this site contains digitized photographs in three collections: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, The Great Depression and New Deal, and World War II. According to this site, "Unless copyright information is stated in the image caption, all of the digitized material available online from the FDR Library Archives belongs in the public domain." See the Citation and Copyright page for more information.
Contains over 27,000 free photos and images from three sources: the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the U.S. fish and Wildlife Service. For information about fair use of these images, click here.
Search for or browse through over 800,000 images from the New York Public Library's collection. According to the site, "[s]ome of the images in the Digital Gallery may be subject to third party rights such as copyright and/or rights of privacy/publicity." For more information, see the Library's Terms and Conditions.
Repository for over 23,500 public domain photos. According to the site, "[a]ll pictures are free for commercial and personal use," but "[i]f you are intend to use an image you find here for commercial use, please be aware that no model or property release was obtained and pictures featuring products should be used with care."
Contains catalog records for and digital reproductions of images held by the Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division. NOTE: Many of the images found on this site are NOT copyright free. For information about which images do not have copyright restrictions, see the site's Copyright and Other Restrictions that Apply to Publication/Distribution of Images: Assessing the Risk of Using a P&P Image and Rights and Restrictions Information pages.