Research Guides: Remote Learning & Research: Books & Book Chapters

Books

Our document delivery service can provide digital copies of chapters for print books owned by the library. To locate books, search the Library Catalog.

eBooks are online resources that Davidson College students, faculty, and staff can access from anywhere. We provide access to thousands of titles from variety of publishers and vendors. Many are digital rights management free (DRM-free) allowing users to download or print material without restrictions. You can search for electronic books by title or full text in electronic book collections. Some of our notable ebook collections are:

Ebook Central
Find scholarly ebooks on all subjects.
Limitations on copying, saving, and printing vary by title, and reset after 24 hours. Some titles can be downloaded for short-term use; some allow chapter downloads. To locate ebooks without user limitations use the Advanced Search option. Near the end of the page, you'll find a field for "Number of Copies." Select "More Than 1" or "Unlimited."
Ebsco eBook Collection
Scholarly ebooks in a wide variety of subject areas.

Limitations on printing, downloading, saving vary by title. To download, Adobe Digital Editions software is required, and books are only available offline for short-term loans. For ebooks we have licensed for 1-User or 3-User the checkout time is 1 day. Please check back for your selected title, the library is not able to determine when an ebook will be accessible.
eDuke Books Scholarly Collection
(c. 1980 to present) Over 2,200 ebooks published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences. All Duke ebook titles are DRM-free: users can print, read online, and download PDFs by chapter and allows for unlimited multiuser access.
Gale eBooks Reference Library
Encyclopedias and reference sources that cover a variety of topics.
MIT Press Direct
MIT Press Direct, a platform that features more than 3,000 titles from the MIT Press’s distinguished front- and backlist. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
DRM Free for users to print, copy and paste, and download by chapter PDF, unlimited simultaneous users.
NC LIVE HomeGrown eBook Collection
Ebooks from North Carolina publishers and authors. Includes fiction, non fiction and poetry.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content ebooks and journals. Titles are DRM-free allowing for unlimited access, downloading and printing, and simultaneous usage.
SpringerLink
eBooks and eJournals spanning science, medicine, technology, humanities and social sciences. All eBooks are DRM free (Digital Rights Management), making them accessible simultaneously by an unlimited number of users with no restrictions on download/print/copy.
University of Michigan Press eBook Collection
University of Michigan Press is a leading publisher and distributor of books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences. Areas of particular focus are performing arts; classical studies; political science; American studies (especially disability and class studies); Asian and African studies. Titles are DRM-free, allow unlimited, muli-users, EPUB 3 reader, EPUB 3 and PDF downloads.

Open Access eBook Collections

Open-access (OA) "literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions."

HathiTrust
A digital repository of more than 17 million books, selected periodicals, and other materials digitized by a partnership of research libraries. As a member of HathiTrust, Davidson College has digital full-text access to more than 6.8 million public domain titles and full-text searching of additional titles in copyright. To find books that you can view cover-to-cover, be sure to limit to "full view only."
To log in for full access to HathiTrust, select the yellow login button in the top-right corner, select Davidson College from the drop-down menu, and enter your single sign-on credentials when prompted.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. Includes ArtStor licensed images.
OAPEN
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.

Textbooks

The library typically does not carry textbooks, but Lula Bell's has one copy of each text that was submitted to the bookstore as required for a Davidson course. Learn more at Lula Bell's Academic Resource Request page.